Listening for Structure

Get It Write

 

By Taffy Cannon

When I first started listening to audio books, I had no particular plan beyond enjoying some of my favorite authors in a new format.

I knew I couldn’t realistically listen to unabridged audio books, because the only place I played these tapes was in my car, and my driving at that point was mostly limited to short trips, car pools, and errands around town.  It could take months to finish an unabridged book at that rate.

And yes, I was aware of the wails from purists who insisted that abridgement destroyed the experience by robbing the audio narrative of … well, of much of its narrative.

But at first that didn’t make much difference, and as time passed, I was seeing less and less on the audio shelves of the library that I hadn’t read before.  Increasingly I found myself listening to books I had already…

View original post 569 more words

Leave a Reply

